Sub please!

I’m probably the second most athletics related competitive person you’ll ever meet. The first is hands down my Uncle Dave. My husband nicknamed him “The Assassin” after being his unfortunate target during a family dodgeball game when we were dating. (Side note: if you’re interested in determining if your boyfriend is a keeper, force him to play dodgeball with your incredibly athletic and competitive extended family who are very protective. Talk about testing the relationship.)

I also love flag football. It might actually be my favorite sport to play, even above basketball, which is my love sport. My version of heaven would have continual Powder Puff games peppered by co-ed college intramural games. It’s so stinkin’ fun. My high school class was super athletic and very spirited and you better believe we beat the seniors our junior year. (Unheard of in most parts of the world, I think. 😉 ) My college team won the intramural championships one year and I think that champion t-shirt is my most prized possession of college.

So. Incredibly competitive flag-football loving- Powder Puff-adoring Mrs. St. G. gets assigned to be a Powder Puff coach. FANTASTIC! of the freshmen. AH CRAP.

Our practices have been, um, interesting. Apparently it is not a universally known thing that having the ball equals offense and trying to get the ball back equals defense. There are a few girls who are athletic, want to win, have a vague understanding of the direction they should run and will do pretty well. The other twenty are really nice girls. With great personalities.

I’ve had to force myself not to make them run suicides and watch film. (Remember: they paid to play, they are here to have fun has been my internal  mantra this week.) I actually gave them five minutes in practice to plan their touch down cheer (who have I become?), which they may or may not actually get to perform. I love their participation and spirit, it’s seriously amazing. After they felt all warm and fuzzy I gave them a little pep talk. So happy everyone came out to play! Go freshmen! Everyone WILL play, but not everyone will play the same amount. Does everyone understand that? Ok. Tell your parents. Thanks.

The hardest thing for me is to stand on the sidelines and will for them to make the plays happen. I want so badly to sub myself in and take charge as the QB.

Growing up sucks.

So, think of us today as we go against the seniors (I mean c’mon. I smell RIGGED!) after lunch. I’ll be doing my best to stay off the field.

At the end of the day, all that matters is that they have fun, right?

(Said no competitive athlete ever.)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sub please!

  1. Mama Marie ; ) says:

    Put a smile on my face!

  2. Dave Fields says:

    Lindsay – we need to talk… The Assassin

Leave a comment