Don’t write me off just yet

You know you’ve officially waited too long between posts when you forget your WordPress login.  Yeah. Not great.

I have at least fifty seven excuses for the hiatus but truly, you make time for things that are important to you. So, I suppose for the last two months this blog has been a little less important to me. It makes me sad to realize that, as this blog has been such a critical place of growing for me. I desire to write.  And I hope to slide, or perhaps wiggle, into a posture of balance soon.

I’m sitting in the living room tonight, which stereotypically is our cutest but most unused room in the hose. Fall is breathing its cooler, fresh breath; our air conditioning is taking a much needed rest. Dinner is halfway finished, the table is set but my groom is still at work. Yesterday he came home from a ten day trip. Ten days felt like forever, certainly only God’s strength gave us the perseverance for nine months. Goodness.

My heart is full to the tippy top. I feel stretched, pushed, challenged, rewarded, affirmed and inspired “on the daily,” as my kids say. They make me feel old with their “cray-cray” sayings.

This job, my friends, is no joke.

Learning is such a precious act, one that must be protected, and then stripped away to its bare bones, and then nurtured, and then prodded, and then coddled again. It feels like you are constantly performing the Rain Dance, attempting with your whole heart to help produce this very thing that you just know has the potential to transform the world.

It’s exhausting work.

But work that I adore.

One thought on “Don’t write me off just yet

  1. Ray Fields says:

    Good to see you back on the ‘job’, Lin. Thx so much for the phone call.
    Love, Papa & Coco

Leave a comment